My Photo Montage – What’s The Message ?

This is my final product – the photo montage ! I decided to name it “Light Choreography”, because the light seems as if it is dancing.

photo (4)

Artistic Statement/Intention

Who said light travels in straight lines ? Anything can happen. When you are down, light brings you wonder. When you feel like the entire world is against you, you must remember that there is one thing – light. Life is like a flower, and we start at the bottom, and by shining light on ourselves, we climb up before reaching a petal at the top. When is something we cannot control but where is something that we can change. Remember that the light you shine on yourself is who you are. There is never saying no to hope.

(99 words)

Explanation of The Artwork – How It Becomes More In Depth

If you have noticed carefully, joining up the colorful lines of light gives you a face staring into the sky. The black sky is the face and the colorful lines of light give it an outline and therefore it’s shape. I am trying to say that from this face, the light you shine on yourself represents who you are. The flower was meant to depict that if you rise, light will welcome you. Motion is utilized based on the movement of light in different directions, hence light choreography.

Inspiration

David Hockney was the one that inspired me for my artwork. From his montages, I took the fact that he took many images of the same thing, which resulted in my experimentation with light. Later, he joined everything together that could still give off that aura, which I tried to communicate with a display of light. Here is an example from one of my previous posts. He took photographs of the same subject, but still joined them together, and what could have been an ordinary world turned into a fantasy. In my montage, I tried to do that by trying to make it more abstract, and therefore more of a world of fantasy. I turned the cars upside down and the light into something as never seen before to try and add on to the effect. Therefore, I would say that this work is my inspiration for my montage – something abstract and dreamlike.

Hockney Montage 2

Leave a Reply

